no.223 | Big Thicket Stomp Live at Co-Lab Projects

This week’s piece is a live recroding from VAST IS THE SEA, a series of events exploring the relationship between image and sound at Co-Lab Projects in Austn, Texas made on the opening nite, January 20th. photo by Brynn Osborn


PSO and Co-Lab Projects Present: VAST IS THE SEA

January 20th through February 24, 2024

“Vast is the sea of hearing around the raft of vision.” ― Michel Chion, La Toile Trouee (Cahiers Du Cinema. Essays Collection)

Vast is the Sea is a series of presentations from eight artists whose diverse works are united by their explorations of images and sound. The title comes from a translation of the composer and film theorist Michel Chion's analysis of the relationship between sound and image in cinema. In their presentations, each artist constructs new oceans through live performances, video, and sound processing. Viewers are invited to gaze at visions projected on the ceiling and swim among the sounds in real time.

All presentations are maximally 45 minutes long.

There will be a 15-20-minute intermission between presentations

Each presentation is ticketed separately except for the opening night


January 20 - Performances and Opening Reception

8pm Anthony Francis + Xavier Gilmore
9pm Porch Swing Orchestra: Barry Stone and Paul Stautinger
Reception to follow (open to all)

January 27 - Performances
7pm Mark Menjivar
8pm Ania Sofko

February 17 - Performances
7pm Ariana Gomez
8pm Gavin Watts/The Reformers

February 24 - Performances
7pm Jessica Mallios
8pm Thomas Hooper X Skloss

This project is supported in part by grants from the Cultural Arts Division of the City of Austin Economic Development Department, Texas Commission on the Arts, the National Endowment for the Arts, and H-E-B.


PSO Podcast


PSO YouTube Stream



Gregory Brooks, Bob Warner, Emily Scarlet Kramer, Rainey Knudson, Ryan Lauderdale, Tamara Gonzales, Katy Chrisler, Gibson + Recoder, Paul Stautinger, Sarah Hennies, Eric Zimmerman, Matt Bauer, Sandy Carson, Ryan Rhodes, Rebecca Marino, Shannon Spurgeon, Aaron Winslow, Ivy Stone, Mark Menjivar, Gavin Watts, Ryan Sprott, Brad Tucker, Caleb Churchill, John Hunt, Audra Wolowiec, Lauren Grant, Bill McCullough, Henry Smith